Buriton Tennis Club

News for Members 

Christmas Party Saturday 6th December Five Bells: After the great success of last year’s party we have booked The Five Bells to host us again this year. For tickets and details contact the Club Secretary, John Blair, via mandy@vantage-int.com

Quiz Night April 2015: Due to the ongoing uncertainty as to when the Village Hall will be back in operation we now intend to hold this event on Saturday 18th April as a ‘pre-season’ event for all Members. More details nearer to the time – but make a note now.

Tournament Finals 2014: Finals day was blessed with fine (if not all that sunny) weather and resulted in much positive feedback about our return to the one-day format. Congratulations to the winners: Sam Passingham; Sarah Ditcham; Max Jones & Paul Evans; Sarah Ditcham & Kirsty Thomas; and Rob Godmon & Lucy Cousins.

The online booking system is now in use for both courts withh bookings available via: http://fastcourts.com/buriton-tennis-club/. Please contact Peter Taylor if you have any queries: peter.taylor@sght.org   

The ladder is hosted at tennisrungs.com and Peter Taylor can provide full details to Members: peter.taylor@sght.org

 Don’t forget our weekly club sessions :

Club Coach, Paul Evans, is very pleased to report the success of a new ‘Beginners Group’ which is available to all potential new players on Fridays from 12:30 until 1:30pm. All rackets and tennis balls are provided and each session is simply £5 – pay on the day.

Paul also runs ‘Tennis Drills to Music’ every Tuesday from 1 – 2pm and again these are pay on the day – just £6 each.

The Ladies Group is every Wednesday (2 – 3pm): pay on the day; £6 each

The popular Saturday Squads sessions - every Saturday morning – offers the choice of three sessions each of about 1 hour duration.

There is now a new Sunday morning Club session: 9.30 – 12 noon.  Just turn up and play.



Directions for visitors

Buriton Tennis Club's courts are located on the village Recreation Ground, adjacent to the Village Hall, just off the High Street at GU31 5RX. Directions and map here: http://www.buritonvillagehall.co.uk/directions


Information about joining the club

For information about joining the club or using the courts, please contact Maggie Johnston on 01730 262293 or maggie.johnston@dsl.pipex.com. Maggie’s address is: Tythe House, Greenway Lane, Buriton. This is the first house on the left after the Maple Inn junction when leaving the village via Greenway Lane.

Tennis balls

Tennis balls are available from two Committee Members living in Buriton village at £4 a tube:

Liz Davies - 01730 268149

Barbara Muir - 01730 231554

Racquet stringing

Two club members are able to undertake racquet stringing:

James Harwood - 07929 043533 and semaj12@hotmail.com

Mark Sinclair - 07717 069643 and mark57sin@hotmail.com

Coaching and enquiries about league tennis matches with other clubs

Paul Evans - 07779 331452 and paultennisevans@yahoo.co.uk  


An introduction to the club

 Although there was a grass court on the Recreation Ground before the Second World War, today’s Buriton Tennis Club was really only formed in the late 1970s – brought about by the late Peggy Larken, Don Hoolahan, Tom Hall and Leonard Sandford.

The Club’s founders were keen to provide more opportunities for youngsters of the parish to play sport and to establish a club with informal, friendly traditions.

The Club’s Committee strives to maintain these ‘family’ traditions to this day – and well into the future.

The Club helps to fund a qualified Coach, Paul Evans, who provides excellent support for scores of local youngsters – and for many others who are still young at heart!

We organise regular club sessions, tournaments and social events. And teams represent the Club in local leagues and friendly matches: ladies, men’s and mixed doubles.

During recent summers the Club offered free coaching sessions and ‘open court’ time to local children (aged under 16) and we hope to continue this arrangement into the future.

Also in 2010 - 2011 we completely resurfaced and repainted both our courts, and our practice wall area, to provide excellent playing conditions. 

We endeavour to keep membership subscriptions at relatively modest levels but, in order to do this, we rely on the support of club members to help with other fund-raising events.

Current annual membership fees

  • Juniors (under 16): £12
  • Students (16-18 years): £17
  • Adults: £45 each
  • Family Membership: £85

Fees are payable from 1st April each year.


The Club’s Committee, elected each year at our Annual General Meeting, currently comprises: Paul Martin (Chairman), Maggie Johnston (Vice Chairman), John Blair (Secretary), Peter Taylor (Treasurer), Alex Butler, Sarah Ditcham, Di Eades, Paul Evans, Nigel Harrison, James Harwood, Doug Jones and Barbara Muir.

Contact details