Parish Council

Welcome to the home page for Buriton Parish Council.

As well as establishing this Community Website for the parish, the Parish Council will  provide copies of Agendas and Minutes of its Meetings here.

Dates of the regular Parish Council meetings for 2016 are listed below - as well as the names of the current members of the Council.  

The Council's 2016 Annual Meeting took place on Monday 23rd May. Copies of the Chairman's summary of achievements (along with those for previous years) are attached at the foot of this page.

Details of any planning applications in the parish can be found by clicking here: 

Also attached at the foot of this page is a downloadable copy of an "Exploring Buriton" leaflet. This provides details of a number of circular walks in the parish and encourages visitors to respect the countryside as it is cherished by the local community. 

The Parish Council aims to make the countryside accessible to responsible walkers by a steady programme of replacing stiles with kissing gates.  We offer a warm welcome to visitors to the parish - particularly those travelling on foot, by cycle or on horse back.  

Our new Parish Clerk, Karen Crookshank, can be contacted via or by telephoning 07943 536065.

Meetings in 2016 are as follows:

  • Monday 25 January
  • Monday 21 March
  • Monday 23 May
  • Monday 25 July
  • Monday 26 September
  • Monday 28 November

All meetings take place in the Village Hall, starting at 7pm with an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions or make comments in the Public Forum at 7.45pm

If there is business to discuss, the Planning Committee meets at 6pm on the above dates and also on the last Monday of other months. If the Planning Committee is due to meet, details will be posted on the Parish Council noticeboard in advance. 

Members of the Parish Council (following elections in 2015 and subsequent cooptions) are as follows:

  • Karen White (Chairman)
  • Maggie Johnston (Vice-Chairman)
  • Andrew Bray
  • Tim Concannon
  • Tim Crew
  • Daphne Gardner
  • Doug Jones
  • Tricia Newby
  • Sarah O'Donoghue

 Chairmen of the Parish Council's Committees are as follows: 

  • Planning Committee Chairman: Maggie Johnstone
  • Rights of Way Committee Chairman: Tricia Newby
  • Recreation Committee Chairman: Karen White
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee Chairman: Sarah O'Donoghue

 For the "Exploring Buriton" Leaflet - click below: