Parish Council

Welcome to the home page for Buriton Parish Council.

As well as establishing this Community Website for the parish, the Parish Council provides copies of Agendas and Minutes of its Meetings here.

Elections for all East Hampshire District Council Wards and all Town and Parishes within the East Hampshire area are scheduled to take place on Thursday 2 May 2019. If you are interested in standing for election then full details - including nomination forms and timetables - are available on the EHDC website here. The Electoral Commission has published a guidance document which can be viewed here.

Although the Parish Council does not need to comply with the Government's 'Transparency Code for Smaller Councils', the Council considers that it is good practice to display a range of other information in this part of the website [see under 'Other Information' tab].

Dates of the regular Parish Council meetings for 2019 are listed below - as well as the names of the current members of the Council.  

The Council's 2018 Annual Meeting was held on 26th March and copies of the Chairman's summary of achievements can be viewed under the 'Annual Reports' tab from this web-page. Accounts Notices and Governance Statements for 2017-18 are available under the 'Other Information' tab.

Details of any planning applications in the parish can be found by clicking here:


Any complaints or problems with the local road network can be reported directly to Hampshire County Council via this page on our website: This deals with potholes, faulty street lights, tree problems, flooding or drainage issues, abandoned vehicles, refilling salt bins, fly tipping and other issues.

The District Council has an online reporting system so that residents can report environmental problems and nuisance. Details can be found on the 'Useful Information' section of this website.

The Parish Council aims to make the countryside accessible to responsible walkers by a steady programme of replacing stiles with kissing gates.  We offer a warm welcome to visitors to the parish - particularly those travelling on foot, by cycle or on horse back. The local walks leaflet, "Exploring Buriton" (downloadable from the home page of this website, provides details of a number of circular walks in the parish and encourages visitors to respect the countryside as it is cherished by the local community.   

Our Parish Clerk, Petra Norris, can be contacted via or by telephoning 07943 536065.

Forthcoming meetings in 2019 are as follows:

  • Monday 20 May
  • Monday 29 July
  • Monday 30 September
  • Monday 25 November

If there is business to discuss, the Planning Committee meets at 6pm on the above dates and also on the last Monday of other months or as required. If the Planning Committee is due to meet, details will be posted on the Parish Council noticeboard in advance as well as on this website. 

Members of the Parish Council (following elections in 2015 and subsequent co-options) are as follows:

  • Tim Concannon (Chairman)
  • Maggie Johnston (Vice-Chairman)
  • Lynne Ashcroft
  • Andrew Bray
  • Tim Crew
  • Cathrine Edgeworth
  • Daphne Gardner
  • Doug Jones
  • Karen White

 Chairmen of the Parish Council's Committees are as follows: 

  • Planning Committee Chairman: Maggie Johnstone
  • Rights of Way Committee Chairman: Doug Jones
  • Recreation Committee Chairman: Karen White
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee Chairman: Tim Concannon

District Councillor: Robert Mocatta (

County Councillor: Robert Mocatta (